Pembroke,Cardigan & Montgomery's Lost Railways Llanidloes Aberaeron Lampeter - The Vale of Rheidol Railway
The Vale of Rheidol Railway

Pembroke,Cardigan & Montgomery's Lost Railways Llanidloes Aberaeron Lampeter

Regular price £6.83 £0.00
Tax included.

Covering the old counties of Pembrokeshire, Cardiganshire and Montgomeryshire (now Dyfed and Powys) this book is a fascinating pictorial history of the railways that once traversed this beautiful part of the world. The book is packed with over fifty wonderful black and white photographs, including one of an accident on the Cambrian main line in 1921. Other locations include Welshpool Station, Llanidloes Station, Lampeter Station, Kerry Station, Cardigan Station, Machynlleth Station and Locomotive No. 7444 at Aberayron Station in 1958, as well as many, many more! 49 pages paperback.


The Vale of Rheidol Railway (Welsh: Rheilffordd Cwm Rheidol) is a 1 ft 11 34 in (603 mm) narrow gauge heritage railway that runs for 11 34 miles (18.9 km) between Aberystwyth and Devil's Bridge in the county of Ceredigion, Wales. Until privatisation, it was the sole steam-operated line on the nationalised British Rail network, steam traction having ceased in 1968 on all other parts of the system. Unlike some other preserved railways in the United Kingdom, the Vale of Rheidol Railway has never closed, with the exception of wartime and has operated a service for tourists through its life. The railway celebrated its centenary in 2002. The Railway is a charity, meaning the income it generates goes back into the railway, to aid in restoration and running of the steam locomotives. Buying through our online giftshop enables you to get the product you want but also donate to the railway and keep it alive. 

Business seller information
Geraint Roberts
Vale of Rheidol Trading Ltd
Park Avenue
SY23 1PG
United Kingdom

Company registration number: 9146470
VAT number: GB 489240712


More from this collection